2013 Ireland Women’s National Lacrosse Team


February 8, 2013    Dublin, Ireland

Ireland Lacrosse today Announced the 2013 Women’s National Lacrosse Team. The team is scheduled to represent Ireland at the Women’s World Cup of Lacrosse July 10-20, 2013 in Oshawa, Ontario, Canada.

Ten players return (Midfielders Katelin Billups, Vanessa Bridge, Orla McCourt, Devin O’Leary and Caroline Peters, Defenders Rebecca Headon, Deirdre Swail, Lucy Morris and Laurie Charlesworth, and attacker Robyn Morris) to the National Team from the 2012 European Championships squad.  Four players (McCourt, Headon, R Morris and Rebecca Millard) will be representing Ireland in a second World Cup.

The team will be coached by Meghan McNamara.  Coach McNamara, presently the Head Coach for NCAA Division II Champion LIU/CWPost, served as Ireland’s Assistant Coach at the 2008 European Championships and 2009 World Cup.  Coach McNamara will be assisted by two former Ireland National Team players: Sarah Walsh (2012) and Jackie Coyne (2008).

2013 Ireland Women’s National Lacrosse Team

Name Position  Residence 
Katelin Billups  #17 Midfield / Goalie Malahide, Co. Dublin,  IRL
Katie Bohane #8 Defense                        London, England, UK
Vanessa Bridge  #4 Midfield / Attack London, England  UK
Laurie Charlesworth #9 Defense London, England  UK
Ashley DeFlumere  #28 Goalie / Defense Monkstown, Co. Dublin, IRL
Victoria Devine #7 Attack Centereach, NY  USA
India Dunn   #15 Midfield Kilmacanogue, Co Wicklow, IRL
Laura Frey  #2 Attack / Midfield Belfast, N. Ireland
Claire Halliday #14 Attack London, England, UK
Rebecca Headon  #13 Defense Dublin, IRL
Olivia Jackson  #1 Midfield Ballyclare, Co Antrim, N. Ireland
Orla McCourt  #20 Midfield / Defense Dundalk, Co. Louth  IRL
Rebecca Millard  #11 Defense Woodford, Co. Galway, IRL
Lucy Morris  #12 Defense / Goalie Middlesex, England  UK
Robyn Morris  #6 Attack Middlesex, England  UK
Devin O’Leary  #5 Defense / Midfield Framingham, MA  USA
Caroline Peters  #3 Midfield Rockville, MD  USA
Deirdre Swail  #23 Defense Knocknacarra, Galway  IRL


2013 Women’s Coaching Staff

Name Role
Jim Carroll Team Leader
Meghan McNamara Head Coach
Sarah Walsh Assistant Coach
Jackie Coyne Assistant Coach
John Cavanaugh Athletic Trainer / National Team Director
Larry Carroll Equipment Manager

Comments are closed.